My Favourite Harry Potter Theories #1 // Month of Magic

Hello friends,

Welcome to the first post of Month of Magic! Today I’m going to be discussing my favourite fan theories – several of which I think are completely possible. This is the first post in a mini series (within a series) of theories that I want to share – I love scouring the internet for new ideas. So let’s get started!


Spoilers ahead!

Warning: This contains spoilers for the Harry Potter series and for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.


Theory #1: “Slughorn’s Darkest Secret”

If you’ve ever marathoned Harry Potter theory videos on YouTube (i.e. if you’re me), you’ve probably seen this video by SuperCarlinBrothers. My friend Toni sent it to me when I mentioned I was watching theory videos, and I was s h o o k. The video explains it well, but the basic idea is that Horace Slughorn, the potions master in Harry’s sixth year at Hogwarts, helped Merope Gaunt create the love potion that led to the conception of Tom Riddle. There are some problems that could disprove this theory, such as the question of whether Merope ever met Slughorn, since it’s believed she never attended Hogwarts, but these are explained in the video. I love this theory because it’s entirely possible that it’s true, and it definitely explains why Slughorn says amortentia is the most dangerous potion in a room that also contains polyjuice potion, veritaserum, and felix felicis. It also makes sense that Slughorn would be interested in a direct descendant of Salazar Slytherin, since he loves to “collect” the acquaintance of famous and/or exceptionally talented witches and wizards. There’s a lot more details in the video so I recommend watching it.


Theory #2: Ariana the Obscurial

This is probably too complicated for me to explain properly because I don’t even have it figured out myself, but I’m going to try. There’s not much dispute around the fact that Ariana Dumbledore was an obscurial – Aberforth Dumbledore, her brother, explains in the Deathly Hallows that she suppressed her magic, after an attack by Muggle boys that left her traumatised, until it turned inwards and became a dark force that “exploded” out of her. It sounds exactly like Credence Barebone from Fantastic Beasts, and we know that he’s an obscurial. What gets me is that Modesty Barebone, Credence’s younger adoptive sister, looks just like Ariana Dumbledore, and it’s believed for a lot of the film that Modesty is the obscurial.

modesty.jpgarianad.jpg

I don’t really have a solid theory, but I think it’s possible that Modesty and Ariana are related in some way. However, it’s been confirmed that Modesty won’t appear in the next Fantastic Beasts film, so it’s most likely that I’m completely wrong.


Theory #3: Trelawney and the Horcrux

One of my favourite theories is less important to the series as a whole but I thought it was a nice touch. In the Prisoner of Azkaban, Professor Sybil Trelawney speaks to Harry and guesses that he was born in midwinter, to which Harry replies that he was actually born in July. However, who do we know who was born in midwinter? Tom Riddle, i.e. Lord Voldemort, a part of whose soul resides in Harry Potter. It’s entirely possible that, instead of just taking a wild guess at Harry’s birthday, Trelawney could actually sense the part of Voldemort’s soul that was concealed within Harry, and could tell what its birth date was. Mind. Blown.


I love Harry Potter theories. I have lots more to share, so my next post is probably not too far off. I hope you enjoyed these, please let me know which one is your favourite in the comments and share others that you have. Thanks for reading!

Rachel

One thought on “My Favourite Harry Potter Theories #1 // Month of Magic

Leave a Reply

