May and June 2017 Wrapup

If you read my May TBR you know I was very ambitious about how many books I planned to read that month. If you know me you know that I fail miserably under that kind of pressure. Also, for some reason, I was really in the mood to read when I was meant to be studying, but once I was finished my exams and had lots of free time, I didn’t want to read at all. I managed to read seven books in May, three of which were Harry Potter books. I entered June in a huge reading slump and it took me most of the month to get out of it. I ended up reading ten books in June. Altogether in the two months I read seventeen books!

Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve been reading this series and kind of keeping up with it for years now, and I was really expecting to love this one. It let me down – it’s not as funny as the previous books, it’s quite offensive at times, and it’s very repetitive. It almost feels like the author is running out of ideas for the characters and so the events get more and more silly. I’m tired of Becky and the squad at this stage and I wish the series had wrapped up earlier so this didn’t tarnish my opinion of it.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

I mean. Obviously you know I loved this one. Have you met me?

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling

I think it was around this point that I decided to rearrange my entire bookshelf so I could have my dedicated Harry Potter shelf at eye level, so I can admire it all day every day.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

I did not like this book at all. I had heard good things about it but it was just as biphobic as the Mortal Instruments, with the added bonus of ableism. I don’t know what I was expecting but this was the final straw – I’ll never pick up another Cassandra Clare book again, since it seems it’s impossible for her to stay in her lane or to write an inoffensive portrayal of marginalisation.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

You’ve probably heard of this book before if you’re in the book community, and it’s a bit of a strange one. On one hand, it’s a diverse book featuring a biracial, disabled protagonist, which inspired a movie to be made. On the other hand, it’s been said to be extremely ableist because [spoilers, highlight to see it] the protagonist turns out to not be disabled at all, and her mother has Munchausen by Proxy Syndrome. I would recommend reading reviews by disabled people who were affected negatively by the portrayal of disability before picking it up, or just not picking it up at all.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

I started this while I was on a weekend trip and it was a perfect book to entertain me during those long sunny days. It’s a perfect, cutesy ball of fluff. You can read my full review here.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

This was a particularly emotional time for me because it’s the last book and I knew I would have to start rereading the Philosopher’s Stone again because why not. I watched all the movies (except for 5 and 6) back to back and it was a wonderful experience. I’m going to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Universal Orlando in a few days and I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited for anything in my life.

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

I LOVED this book. I went to the book launch in June with Gabbie, where we got wine and cookies with the book cover on them. We met Moïra, who was lovely, and she signed our books for us.

moira.png

Look at that tattoo. Goals. I wrote a review of this book, which you can read here.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling

I read the textbook edition of this title, not the screenplay, and I absolutely loved it. It was my first time reading it and it was fun to see all the different creatures I recognised from the Fantastic Beasts movie and from the Harry Potter series. I definitely recommend this as a quick dip back into the wizarding world, when you don’t feel like rereading the original books. I’m planning on reading Quidditch Through the Ages and Tales of Beedle the Bard before I go to Orlando. (I’m writing this wrapup in the middle of June, so if these books show up later in this post you’ll know I got around to them!)

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

This book was a mixed bag of “eh” and “wow” moments for me. I wrote a full review, which you can read here. I enjoyed it overall and I gave it 3.5 stars.

Far From You by Tess Sharpe

I LOVED this book, it was one of my favourites of the month. It took me a couple of chapters to get into it, but once I did, I couldn’t stop. I wrote a more detailed review; you can read it here.

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

I started this book a few weeks ago, and after I went to Adam Silvera’s event in Dublin and had my books signed (and chatted with him about Harry Potter), I knew I had to get around to finishing it. It really picked up around halfway and I ended up really enjoying it towards the end. I definitely enjoyed it more than More Happy Than Not, and I loved where the story went as it progressed. I used to hate the now vs. then type of story, with the book jumping between timelines, but it’s really growing on me, between this book and Far From You.

Not Working by Lisa Owens

This book was a miss from me; it was boring and, at times, completely inappropriate and offensive. I wrote a full review here.

Internet Famous by Danika Stone

On the other hand, this book was GREAT. So fluffy and fun, whilst also dealing with deeper topics. I wrote a full review here.

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

This was a really enjoyable book – lighthearted at some points, and dealt with some important topics. Read my full review here!

Quidditch Through the Ages by JK Rowling

😏😏😏

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This was such a lovely fun book, I read it in a day because I couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to get the next two books and marathon them (probably on my nine-hour flight on Thursday)! I really recommend this as a light summer read.

Yay books! That’s everything that I read in the last two months – comment and tell me how many books you read, and if you’ve read any of these ones. Thanks for reading!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

